Math Teacher Leaders Program Kickoff Set for March 19

Noyce CT Math Teacher Leaders Program Logo.Next month, the Connecticut Noyce Math Teacher Leaders (MTL) Program will kick off its five-year project with a gathering in Connecticut featuring several guest speakers, introducing its MTL Fellows, and sharing information on the program’s timeline and logistics, which include nearly $2 million in support from the National Science Foundation as well as private funding.

The MTL Program, led by Principal Investigator and Neag School Associate Professor Megan Staples, aims to support the development and retention of exceptional math educators in the state’s highest-needs school districts. In addition, the project strives to build infrastructure to enhance future leadership capacity in math education.

Staples and her team have recruited an experienced group of 20 math teachers in grades 7 through 12 from Connecticut’s Alliance Districts who have committed to engaging in a five-year professional learning and service program launching this year. The  program will focus on developing these teachers into leaders and mentors in math education. MTL Fellows will take part in coursework; a series of individualized leadership projects executed in collaboration with school or district leaders; and conference presentations, among other activities. In addition, they will have the opportunity to work alongside UConn’s Center for Teaching and Learning to create online learning modules for other math teachers to enhance their own practice and math teacher leadership.

The project is a collaboration between UConn’s Neag School of Education, UConn’s Department of Mathematics in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and the Connecticut State Department of Education. Meet the team.

Event Details 

  • Date: Saturday, March 19, 2022
  • Time: Special Guests and Remarks from 9-10:30 a.m., with workshop for MTL Fellows to follow
  • Location: Connecticut Association of Schools, 30 Realty Drive, Cheshire, Connecticut

Featured speakers will include Connecticut Education Commissioner Charlene Russell-Tucker; Jason G. Irizarry, dean of the University of Connecticut’s Neag School of Education; and Steve Leinwand, math education change agent.